Quick Answer: The best high efficiency water softener for most homes is the GE GXSHC40N ($656, list $749 at GE). It is certified to NSF/ANSI 44 and rated at 5,090 grains of hardness per pound of salt with its Salt Saver button on, about twice the salt efficiency of the same unit at its maximum dose. For bigger households, the Whirlpool WHES44 ($619 at Loweâs) has the same 5,090 rating and recharges 18,700 grains per efficient cycle. The most efficient rating we found is Kineticoâs at 5,393 grains per pound, but it is dealer-only. The catch with every model: per the makersâ own data sheets, the efficiency rating applies only at the smallest salt dose.
âHigh efficiencyâ sounds like a type of softener, but on paper it is a setting. NSFâs certification listings give a softener the efficiency-rated mark when it removes at least 3,350 grains of hardness per pound of salt and uses 5 gallons of water or less per 1,000 grains. California sets the bar higher, at 4,000 grains per pound, for any softener installed since 2002 that drains to a sewer. Almost every certified big-box softener clears both bars, but only at its lowest salt dose, and most ship with that setting switched off. So we ranked these softeners by the rated salt efficiency printed on each manufacturerâs performance data sheet, not by âup to 75% less saltâ marketing.
High efficiency water softeners at a glance
| Softener | Best for | Rated efficiency (grains/lb @ salt dose) | Grains per efficient recharge | Max rated capacity | Price (checked Oct 29, 2026) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| GE GXSHC40N | Best overall | 5,090 @ 2.3 lb | 11,700 | 40,000 @ 15.1 lb | $656 (list $749, GE) |
| Whirlpool WHES44 | Bigger households | 5,090 @ 3.7 lb | 18,700 | 44,000 @ 16.7 lb | $619 (Lowe's listing) |
| GE GXSH45V | Very hard water, under $600 | 5,050 @ 2.6 lb | 13,200 | 45,100 @ 17.0 lb | $586.30 (list $799, GE) |
| US Water Systems Matrixx MXX-100 | Online, published HE table | 5,000 @ 3 lb (our math from its HE table) | 15,000 | 35,000 max | $1,295.95 (US Water Systems) |
| Kinetico Premier XP S650 / Q850 OD XP | Highest rating, dealer-installed | 5,393 @ 0.8 lb | Not published per cycle | Dealer spec | Dealer quote only |
| SoftPro Elite Smart HE | Upflow fans who buy online | Not published | Not published | 32,000-64,000 (nominal) | $1,367-$1,587 (SoftPro) |
Efficiency figures come from each manufacturerâs NSF/ANSI 44 performance data sheet (GE Rev 0 11-23 and GXSHC40N Rev 1 manuals, Whirlpool manual 7392319 Rev G, Kineticoâs published claim), except the Matrixx row, which we calculated from US Water Systemsâ own high-efficiency settings table. GE prices are from geappliances.com, the Whirlpool price is the Loweâs listing shown in Google Shopping, and the Matrixx and SoftPro prices are from each sellerâs store.
High efficiency softeners by the numbers
- 3,350 grains per pound: the minimum salt efficiency for NSFâs âefficiency ratedâ mark, alongside a cap of 5 gallons of regeneration water per 1,000 grains, per NSFâs own NSF/ANSI 44 listings legend.
- 4,000 grains per pound: Californiaâs floor for softeners installed since January 1, 2002 that discharge to the sewer (Health and Safety Code section 116785).
- About 2,650 grains per pound: what GEâs GXSHC40N and Whirlpoolâs WHES44 and WHES48 deliver at their maximum salt dose, calculated from their own data sheets. That is under NSFâs efficiency bar.
- 65%: the share of chloride passing through Minnesotaâs wastewater plants that comes from residential and commercial water softening, about 136,000 tons a year, according to the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency.
- 47%: the cut in wastewater chloride a Madison, Wisconsin study projected from replacing softeners with units rated at 4,000 grains per pound, as summarized by the Water Quality Association. Re-tuning existing softeners got 27%.
1. GE GXSHC40N: Best Overall
GE Smart 40,000 Grain Water Softener (GXSHC40N)
- GE's data sheet rates it at 11,700 grains @ 2.3 lb, 31,500 @ 8.7 lb and 40,000 @ 15.1 lb of salt, with a rated efficiency of 5,090 grains per pound at the minimum dose. The same sheet adds a line most buyers never read: "The efficiency rating is valid only at the minimum stated salt dose."
- Getting there takes one button. The manual's Salt Saver section says that with the feature on, the softener "will operate at salt efficiencies of 4000 grains of hardness per pound of salt or higher," and that it "is shipped with this feature set OFF." Press Salt Saver until the blue light above it comes on.
- Handles up to 110 grains per gallon of hardness and 8 ppm of clear-water iron at a 9.5 gpm rated service flow. Water use at the efficient dose is 2.7 gallons per 1,000 grains.
- It replaced the GXSH40V, which shares the same data-sheet numbers, and adds leak detection and remote shutoff (see our GE water softener review).
A more efficient setting makes each 40 lb bag last longer, but the bag still runs out at some point. Softener salt and resin cleaner arrive on time with Amazon Prime, which ships them free in two days, and you can try it free for 30 days.
Why GE first: it has the clearest instructions of any big-box softener for reaching its rating, a published price, and a full NSF/ANSI 44 data sheet. GEâs own manual also warns that real-world âoperational efficiencyâ is typically lower than the lab rating because of hardness, water use and other contaminants. That warning applies to every softener on this list.
2. Whirlpool WHES44: Best for Bigger Households
Whirlpool 44,000 Grain Water Softener (WHES44)
- Whirlpool's manual (7392319 Rev G) rates the WHES44 at 18,700 grains @ 3.7 lb, 34,800 @ 9.7 lb and 44,000 @ 16.7 lb, with 5,090 grains per pound at the minimum dose.
- The useful difference is the 18,700 grains it recharges per efficient cycle, the most of any big-box unit we checked. On the efficient setting, a family of four on 15 grains-per-gallon water (4,500 grains a day) gets about four days between regenerations instead of two to three.
- The lowest water use at the efficient dose among the big-box units here: 2.68 gallons per 1,000 grains. The data sheet also lists a "Variable Salt Dose" that the controls pick at regeneration time based on the amount needed.
- Turn on "Salt Efficiency" in the controller menu. Whirlpool ships it off, and its manual says it then runs at 4,000 grains per pound or higher. Rated for 140 grains per gallon of hardness and 12 ppm of clear-water iron. Our Whirlpool review covers the WHES44 against the WHESFC hybrid.
3. GE GXSH45V: Best for Very Hard Water Under $600
GE 45,100 Grain Water Softener (GXSH45V)
- Rated at 13,200 grains @ 2.6 lb, 35,500 @ 9.9 lb and 45,100 @ 17.0 lb, with 5,050 grains per pound at the minimum dose and 2.8 gallons of water per 1,000 grains.
- The highest hardness limit of the GE pair: 160 grains per gallon, plus 10 ppm of clear-water iron. It has the same Salt Saver button as the GXSHC40N.
- The cheapest certified, efficiency-rated softener on this list at GE's current sale price.
4. US Water Systems Matrixx: Best Online Pick with a Published HE Table
Matrixx Smart Metered Water Softener (MXX-100 / 150 / 200)
- US Water Systems publishes both settings side by side. On the 1.0 cu ft MXX-100, the high-efficiency setting is 15,000 grains on 3 lb of salt and 33 gallons of water. The maximum setting is 32,000 grains on 15 lb and 67 gallons. Our math: 5,000 grains per pound against about 2,130.
- The larger sizes keep the same ratio: 22,500 grains on 4.5 lb (MXX-150) and 30,000 grains on 6 lb (MXX-200).
- US Water Systems calls the control valve "WQA Gold Seal Certified" and pairs it with a Bluetooth app. Warranty is lifetime on tank and resin and 10 years on valve and electronics.
- The marketing headline is "up to 70% less salt & water." The table is the more useful part, because it shows exactly which setting delivers what.
5. Kinetico Premier XP (S650 OD XP / Q850 OD XP): Highest Rated Efficiency
Kinetico Premier XP Series Softeners
- Kinetico markets the S650 OD XP and Q850 OD XP as the "World's Most Efficient Softener," and the footnote gives the number: 5,393 grains per pound of salt at the 0.8 lb setting, WQA-tested to NSF/ANSI 44. It is the highest rated figure we found.
- The design explains it. Kinetico's twin-tank units are non-electric, and in Kinetico's words, "Soft water is used to regenerate the softener during all phases" with counter-current regeneration. Small, frequent regenerations suit low salt doses.
- The downside is price and access. Kinetico publishes no prices and sells only through dealers; our Kinetico review puts installed quotes at about $1,500 to $6,000+.
6. SoftPro Elite Smart HE: Best Upflow Option, With a Caveat
SoftPro Elite Smart HE (City and Well Water)
- SoftPro's product pages describe an "upflow design" that pre-makes only 70% of the brine, tops it up just before regeneration, and refills the brine tank with soft water.
- The caveat is the numbers. We could not find a published grains-per-pound rating, and SoftPro's own salt claims disagree: "up to 30% more salt" savings on the city page, "about 60% less salt than a traditional softener" on the well page, and "up to 75%" against a Fleck 5600SXT on a comparison page.
- If you are considering it, ask SoftPro for the NSF/ANSI 44 performance data sheet, and compare its grains-per-pound figure at the stated salt dose with the 5,090 on the GE and Whirlpool units. Our SoftPro review covers the warranty fine print.
The efficiency cliff: the same softener at every salt dose
Every NSF/ANSI 44 data sheet lists three salt doses. Divide grains by pounds and you see what âhigh efficiencyâ really means. The rated efficiency is the manufacturerâs figure at the minimum dose. The other two columns are our arithmetic from the same sheet.
| Softener (data sheet) | Minimum dose | Middle dose | Maximum dose (advertised capacity) |
|---|---|---|---|
| GE GXSHC40N | 11,700 @ 2.3 lb = 5,090/lb (rated) | 31,500 @ 8.7 lb = 3,621/lb | 40,000 @ 15.1 lb = 2,649/lb |
| GE GXSH45V | 13,200 @ 2.6 lb = 5,050/lb (rated) | 35,500 @ 9.9 lb = 3,586/lb | 45,100 @ 17.0 lb = 2,653/lb |
| Whirlpool WHES44 | 18,700 @ 3.7 lb = 5,090/lb (rated) | 34,800 @ 9.7 lb = 3,588/lb | 44,000 @ 16.7 lb = 2,635/lb |
| Whirlpool WHES48 | 14,200 @ 2.8 lb = 5,090/lb (rated) | 37,900 @ 10.5 lb = 3,610/lb | 48,000 @ 18.1 lb = 2,652/lb |
| Morton M45C | 13,233 @ 2.6 lb = 5,070/lb (rated) | 35,700 @ 9.9 lb = 3,606/lb | 45,400 @ 17.2 lb = 2,640/lb |
| Rheem RHS42 | 12,400 @ 2.5 lb = 5,010/lb (rated) | 29,900 @ 8.0 lb = 3,738/lb | 42,400 @ 16.3 lb = 2,601/lb |
| EcoWater 3700 Refiner (ERRC3702) | 4,800/lb @ 4.5 lb (rated) | Not listed | 50,000 @ 17.4 lb = 2,874/lb |
| Hague WaterMax (spec chart) | 6,000 @ 1.1 lb = 5,455/lb | Not listed | 32,100 @ 9.3 lb = 3,452/lb |
The pattern holds for every brand. At the advertised capacity, these softeners land around 2,600 to 2,900 grains per pound, which is below NSFâs 3,350 efficiency bar. The middle dose clears NSFâs bar but not Californiaâs 4,000. Only the minimum dose reaches 5,000.
The reason is resin chemistry, not brand. A technical bulletin from water-treatment company Chemaqua lists the standard figures per cubic foot of softening resin:
| Salt per cubic foot of resin | Capacity per cubic foot | Salt efficiency |
|---|---|---|
| 15 lb | 30,000 grains | 2,000 grains/lb |
| 10 lb | 25,000 grains | 2,500 grains/lb |
| 7.5 lb | 22,000 grains | 2,933 grains/lb |
| 4 lb | 18,200 grains | 4,550 grains/lb |
Doubling the salt from 7.5 to 15 lb adds only about 36% more capacity, and Chemaqua notes that doses above 15 lb per cubic foot âdo not significantly increase capacity.â Writing in Water Conditioning & Purification in 2024, C.F. Michaud put it simply: âHigh efficiency is considered 4,000 grains per pound. To achieve that, the salt dose is typically 6 lbs/cu ft or less.â
What actually makes a softener efficient
- Demand-initiated regeneration. A meter or sensor triggers regeneration based on use. Time-clock softeners cannot earn the efficiency rating at all, according to the Pacific Northwest National Laboratoryâs Building America guide for the U.S. Department of Energy. Our regeneration guide explains the difference.
- A low salt dose. This is the one that matters most, per the table above. It is a setting (Salt Saver, Salt Efficiency, or a lower lb/cu ft on a Fleck or Clack valve), not a separate product.
- Variable or proportional brining. The valve sizes the brine to the resin actually used. Whirlpoolâs data sheet lists a variable salt dose, and the Water Quality Associationâs âGetting Smart with Softenersâ guidance names proportional brining, variable reserve and twin tanks as efficient technologies.
- Upflow (counter-current) brining. Brine flows opposite to service flow, so the resin nearest the outlet gets regenerated best. It helps, but by how much depends on the source: Pentair claims âup to -10%â water and salt for its upflow Autotrol Performa 269, far below the 70% to 75% some online sellers advertise.
Salt-savings claims, decoded
| Brand / system | Claim (their wording) | Compared with |
|---|---|---|
| Kinetico S650 / Q850 OD XP | "World's Most Efficient Softener" | A number: 5,393 grains/lb @ 0.8 lb, WQA-tested |
| GE, Whirlpool, Morton (NSF 44 sheets) | "Rated Efficiency" 5,050-5,090 grains/lb | A number, at the stated minimum salt dose |
| Pentair Autotrol Performa 269 | "water and salt savings (up to -10%)" | Not stated |
| Culligan Aquasential Smart HE | "reducing operating costs by up to 46%" | A time-clock softener, salt plus water plus electricity, with optional Aqua-Sensor |
| Hague WaterMax Signature | "Uses up to 50% Less Salt" | Not stated |
| US Water Systems Matrixx | "up to 70% less salt & water" | A 6 lb "standard setting" (3 lb vs 6 lb per regeneration) |
| SoftPro Elite Smart HE | 30%, "about 60%," and "up to 75%" on different pages | Varies: "traditional softener" or a Fleck 5600SXT |
Only the first two rows give you a number you can compare across brands. Culliganâs 46% is not a salt figure at all: it covers salt, water and electricity together.
Is the efficient setting worth it? The math for a family of four
Using our sizing guideâs standard household (4 people x 75 gallons a day x 15 grains per gallon = 4,500 grains a day, about 1.64 million grains a year) and GEâs GXSHC40N data sheet:
| GXSHC40N salt setting | Grains per pound | Salt per year | 40 lb bags per year | Days between regenerations (approx.) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Maximum (15.1 lb) | 2,649 | About 620 lb | 15.5 | About 9 |
| Middle (8.7 lb) | 3,621 | About 454 lb | 11.3 | About 7 |
| Salt Saver (2.3 lb) | 5,090 | About 323 lb | 8.1 | About 2.6 |
That is roughly 300 lb less salt to buy and carry each year. At the $5 to $7 a bag we found for Diamond Crystal pellets in our softener salt guide, it saves about $37 to $52 a year. The trade-off is water. At 2.7 gallons per 1,000 grains, the efficient setting uses about 4,400 gallons a year for regeneration, against about 1,500 gallons at the maximum dose (41 regenerations of 37 gallons each). The extra 2,900 gallons are roughly 10 days of this householdâs total water use. Real-world numbers will run lower than the lab rating, as GEâs manual itself notes.
Two cases where the efficient setting is clearly worth it: you are on a septic system or in an area that restricts softener discharge (our septic guide covers why efficient operation matters there), or you live in California, where the efficiency feature is required by law for sewer-connected installs.
When high efficiency wonât work as rated
- Iron or high TDS. The Water Quality Associationâs guidance says source water should have fewer than 2 ppm of iron and 750 ppm of total dissolved solids, and that high-performance units âare typically not capable of achieving salt efficiencies of 4,000 grainsâ when those are present. On iron-heavy well water, see our well water softener guide first.
- Potassium chloride. WQA says regeneration needs a 13-15% higher concentration of KCl, so expect fewer grains per pound than the sodium-chloride rating.
- Hybrid softener/filter units. Whirlpoolâs WHESFC âPro Series Hybridâ, EcoPureâs EPHS and Kenmoreâs Elite 520 are rated at 4,230 grains per pound. That still meets Californiaâs 4,000, but it is the lowest of the rated units we checked.
- No rating at all. Aquasureâs Harmony 48,000 manual (version 5.0) contains no performance data sheet, salt-dose table or NSF/WQA statement. EcoPureâs new EPS110, EPS120 and EPH130 manuals (January 2026) list no rated capacity or efficiency and say the units are certified only to NSF/ANSI/CAN 372, the lead-content standard.
How to choose a high efficiency water softener
- Ask for the performance data sheet. Look for âRated Efficiency (Grains/Pound of Salt @ Minimum Salt Dose).â If a seller cannot produce one, the efficiency claim is marketing.
- Compare grains per efficient recharge, not the headline capacity. A 44,000-grain Whirlpool recharges 18,700 grains at its efficient dose, while a 40,000-grain GE recharges 11,700. That decides how often it regenerates on the efficient setting.
- Size for the efficient dose. If you plan to run Salt Saver, a slightly larger unit keeps regenerations from coming every other day. Our best water softener guide covers the rest of the selection criteria, and if you also need chlorine removal, see the softener and filter combo guide.
The bottom line
The best high efficiency water softener is usually one you can already buy at a big-box store, set correctly. The GE GXSHC40N ($656) and Whirlpool WHES44 ($619) both carry an NSF/ANSI 44 rating of 5,090 grains per pound, but only once you switch on Salt Saver or Salt Efficiency, which both ship turned off. Pick the GE GXSH45V for very hard water on a budget, the Matrixx if you want a published high-efficiency table from an online seller, and Kineticoâs Premier XP if you want the highest rating we found (5,393 grains per pound) and donât mind a dealer quote. Whatever you buy, compare the grains-per-pound number at its stated salt dose; percentage claims rarely say what they are compared with.